Meeting Register Page

Interpreting The Bible In The Early Church course- ONLINE ZOOM with Fr. Scott Lewis SJ
This course will examine the interpretation of Scripture in the early Church from the formation of the New Testament through the 4th century CE. We begin by focusing on the various ways in which the Scriptures were interpreted in the Jewish tradition in the three centuries BCE and the continuation of these traditions in the composition and of the New Testament. We will cover the allegorical approach, visual displays of biblical stories and themes, the influence of the Christological debates in the 4th century, the bible and the Desert Fathers, and the ways in which challenges to early Christianity affected the interpretation of Scripture. The two main schools of interpretation – Alexandria and Antioch – will be studied, along with some of the influential interpreters in these schools. Special attention will be given to anti-Judaic and supersessionist elements in the composition and interpretation of Scripture.

Fr. Scott Lewis SJ
Fr. Scott Lewis is a member of the Society of Jesus and Dean emeritus of Regis College at the University of Toronto. He is currently on the faculty of Campion College in Regina, Saskatchewan. He writes a weekly column on scripture for the Catholic Register entitled “God’s Word on Sunday”. His particular interest and expertise is in the Gospel of John, the Letters of Paul and examining biblical texts using midrash and Jewish Sources. Fr. Lewis travels throughout Canada and internationally teaching scripture and giving retreats infused with Ignatian spirituality. His latest publication is ‘How Not to Read the Bible’, Novalis Press.

2022 - Thursday October 13, Monday October 17, Thursday October 20, Thursday October 27 and
Thursday November 3

5 Sessions - 90 min each

Time: 2:00 p.m. EST – Toronto
2:00 p.m. New York
11:00 a.m San Francisco
18:00 London
19:00 Rome
20:00 Jerusalem !!

Please check your time and date: www.timeanddate.com

Cost: $75. USD
Payment: Several payment options.
Please contact: registrar@biblical-program.com




Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: .