Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
Gemirna Workshop #1: Jastrow Tour with SVARA Fellow Binya Kóatz
~Gemirna Workshops~
The Rabbis teach us that in order to be a player—someone who shapes the tradition—you need two things: 1) gemirna, deep learning, and 2) sevirna, moral intuition. These workshops are designed to help you get your gemirna as you become a player. Each workshop will guide you through an area of skill-building in Talmud learning that will help you know your shit on a new level. Come for one or both these standalone sessions!

ACCESS NOTES: All you need is your alef-bet! All sessions will be live-captioned. Please offer additional access needs below and see more information here: https://svara.org/accessibility-at-svara/

Session 1: The Jastrow Dictionary: A Comprehensive Tour with SVARA Fellow Binya Kóatz
Thursday, November 4 | 7:00-8:30 PM ET | 6:00-7:30 PM CT | 4:00-5:30 PM PT

The Jastrow Dictionary is our key to unlocking our Talmud texts, *and* it has a whole lot of information! Often the answers we need are somewhere in the entry, and the trick is knowing where and how to find them. In this workshop, you’ll get some tips and tricks for how to look up a word in Jastrow and decode all of the goodies that can help you get the most glittery definitions of your words.

Also sign-up for...
Gemirna Workshop, Session 2: Binyan Basics: Dressing Up Our Roots with Learning Coordinator & SVARA Fellow Amir Weg | Thursday November 11 | 7:00-8:30 PM ET | 6:00-7:30 PM CT | 4:00-5:30 PM PT
Binyan Workshop Registration Link - https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYvceytrDwvGdSxKF-9mXQyPyiROsP3XsrR

Nov 4, 2021 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Loading
* Required information