Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
Bringing the Inside Out — The Story of Hanukah as Told by Tractate Shabbat
Sunday - Weekly for 10 Weeks

8:00 pm - 10:00 pm Israel
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Eastern USA
10:00 am - 12:00 pm Pacific USA

Tuition: $125 (The class size will be limited.)
Payments can be made here: www.pardes.org.il/bringing-the-inside-out-payment/

Rav Rahel Berkovits teaches:
Introductory Talmud Class (includes Chevruta - 2 hours)
Bringing the Inside Out — The Story of Hanukah as Told by Tractate Shabbat

Why do we light Hanukah candles and what do they symbolize? We all know the story of the miraculous flask of oil that burned for eight days, but is that the whole story? In this class we will examine and analyze the meta-themes and literary structure of the section in Tractate Shabbat in which the laws of Hanukah are taught.

This 10 week Talmud course, culminating at Hanukah time, will offer both skills in reading the Talmudic text in its original as well as adding a new layer to our understanding of this well-known and beloved Jewish holiday. This class is an introductory level Talmud class open to anyone who has a basic reading comprehension of Hebrew. Wordlists will be provided for the Aramaic.

FOR QUESTIONS OR HELP WITH TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES CONTACT: SIMON@PARDES.ORG.
Nov 1, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 8, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 15, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 22, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 29, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 6, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 13, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 20, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 27, 2020 01:00 PM
Jan 3, 2021 01:00 PM
Time shows in
Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information