Meeting Register Page

Voices from the Holy Land Online Film Salon logo
Voices from the Holy Land Online Film Salon: "Valentino's Ghost: Why We Hate Arabs" - 9/12/21
"Valentino’s Ghost: Why We Hate Arabs" exposes the ways in which America's foreign policy agenda in the Middle East drives the U.S. media's portrayals of Arabs and Muslims. The film lays bare the truths behind taboo subjects that are conspicuously avoided, or merely treated as sound bites, by the mainstream American media:

"Why do they hate us?" "Why do we hate them?"

- What were the events that led to the 9/11 attacks?
- What are the politics behind the U.S.-Israeli relationship?
- Why is there a robust debate about these subjects in Europe, the Arab World and in Israel itself, but not in the United States?

"Valentino's Ghost: Why We Hate Arabs" provides a fresh inquiry which challenges the media's daily barrage of rhetoric and misinformation about our complex and vital relationship with this part of the world.

NOTE: Watch this 2019 film (1 hr 24 min) on your own, BEFORE THE EVENT. Registrants will receive the link for viewing the film via the confirmation email you'll receive shortly after you register. Be sure to save that letter and the link it contains. The link is personalized to you. You must have this link to join the Q&A discussion on Sept 12th.

On Sept 12, join us for a discussion and your questions. The panelists are the award-winning writer/director Michael Singh and Dr. Waleed Mahdi, assistant professor of US-Arab cultural politics at the University of Oklahoma and author of "Arab Americans in Film: From Hollywood and Egyptian Stereotypes to Self-Representation" (Syracuse University Press, 2020). The discussion will be moderated by Dr. Rosemarie Esber, author, historian and Fulbright Scholar to Saudi Arabia.

Join us Sunday Sept 12, 2021 03:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time/ noon Pacific Daylight Time/ 8:00 PM London/ 9:00 PM Munich/ 10:00 PM Ramallah

Sep 12, 2021 03:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: VFHL Event Committee.