Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
How does Halakha (Jewish Law) Work? Can it Change?
Tuesday - Weekly for 10 Weeks

8:00 pm - 9:00 pm Israel
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Eastern USA
10:00 am - 11:00 am Pacific USA

How does Halakha (Jewish Law) Work? Can it Change?
with Rabbi Zvi Hirschfield

Tuition: $75
Payments can be made here: www.pardes.org.il/how-does-halakha-work-payment/

Together we will explore both the philosophical underpinnings of the Halakhic system and the way it operates in actual decision making. We will examine the relationship between the Written Law and Rabbinic interpretation (oral law), the authority of precedent, the role of machloket (disagreements), and the autonomy of the individual within the system. We will also discuss how custom, extraordinary circumstances, and communal needs influence Halakhic decision-making.

NOTE: Class dates are subject to change. You will be notified if this occurs.

FOR QUESTIONS OR HELP WITH TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES CONTACT: SIMON@PARDES.ORG.
Nov 3, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 10, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 17, 2020 01:00 PM
Nov 24, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 1, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 8, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 15, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 22, 2020 01:00 PM
Dec 29, 2020 01:00 PM
Jan 5, 2021 01:00 PM
Time shows in
Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information