Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
International Holocaust Remembrance Day 2023

”We Don’t Know What the Future Holds”:
Being a Refugee Then and Today

The Ghetto Fighters' House and the Friedrich Ebert Foundation invite you to a special Talking Memory program marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day on Sunday, January 22:

Being a Refugee: The Case of Ukraine Then and Now

Guest Speakers:

Dr. Marta Havryshko – Institute Director of the Institute, Babyn Yar Holocaust Memorial Center

Gender and Genocide: Sexual Assaults during the Holocaust and the Search for Justice in Post-War Soviet Ukraine

Chuck Fishman – Award Winning Photographer

Survivors Saving Survivors:
Photographing the Ukrainian Refugee Experience in Poland

Jonathan Ornstein – CEO of the JCC Krakow

Tikkun Olam: The Response of JCC Krakow to the Ukrainian Crisis


This special Talking Memory program, marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day, will focus on the experiences Jewish refugees in Soviet Ukraine after the Holocaust and Ukrainian refugees today.

Dr. Marta Havryshko will explore sexual violence during the Holocaust from the point of view of its immediate victims and witnesses —Jewish women and men who survived the Holocaust and became witnesses in postwar trials in Soviet Ukraine (the 1940s-1980s). She will also share her experiences as a refugee who had to leave Ukraine as a result of the Russian invasion in February 2022.

Jonathan Ornstein will share the incredible story of how JCC Krakow has been taking in refugees from Ukraine since the Russian invasion and is directly helping and supporting over one hundred and fifty thousand Ukrainians over the last eight months.

Chuck Fishman will share a photographic slice of the Ukrainian refugee experience in Poland, as seen, felt and interpreted by a ripened American photographer.

11 AM Pacific | 2 PM EST | 7 PM GMT | 9 PM Israel


Jan 22, 2023 09:00 PM in Jerusalem

Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information