Meeting Register Page

Meeting banner
Gemirna Workshop #2: Binyanim Basics with Learning Coordinator & SVARA Fellow Amir Weg
~Gemirna Workshops~
The Rabbis teach us that in order to be a player—someone who shapes the tradition—you need two things: 1) gemirna, deep learning, and 2) sevirna, moral intuition. These workshops are designed to help you get your gemirna as you become a player. Each workshop will guide you through an area of skill-building in Talmud learning that will help you know your shit on a new level. Come for one or both these standalone sessions!

ACCESS NOTES: All you need is your alef-bet! All sessions will be live-captioned. Please offer additional access needs below and see more information here: https://svara.org/accessibility-at-svara/

Session 2: Binyan Basics: Dressing Up Our Roots with Learning Coordinator & SVARA Fellow Amir Weg
November 11 | 7:00-8:30 PM ET | 6:00-7:30 PM CT | 4:00-5:30 PM PT

Hifil, Pu’al, and Piel, oh my! What is a BINYAN and how can it help you as you’re digging into Talmud learning and beyond? As we know, Hebrew has this phenomenon of ROOTS—those delicious, usually three-letter kernels of meaning we encounter when we go word by word! We turn Hebrew roots into verbs by putting on one of seven outfits (patterns of prefixes, suffixes, infixes, and vowels) called BINYANIM, which transform the meaning of the root in characteristic ways. Whether it’s your first encounter with binyanim or you’re coming back for some re-grounding, come learn how to play grammar dress-up and get to know how this grammatical system works!

Nov 11, 2021 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Loading
* Required information