Meeting Register Page

20 years of GFC: celebrating two decades of rights-based campaigning to halt deforestation
We are excited to invite you to join us in celebrating GFC's 20th anniversary on Friday 30th November from 8am Bogotá / 10am São Paulo / 1pm Accra / 2pm Amsterdam / 4pm Nairobi / 6.3pm Delhi / 8pm Jakarta. To commemorate the occasion we're hosting an online event to honour the struggles that our member groups have engaged in over the past two decades to halt and reverse deforestation and forest degradation in a rights-based, gender-responsive and socially-just way.

In 2015, governments committed to halting deforestation and forest degradation by December 2020 as part of the Sustainable Development Goals. Our 20-year celebration will include inspiring examples of how communities and Indigenous People have implemented this commitment themselves, even where their governments have failed.

Facilitated by GFC's current chairperson of the board Anna Kirilenko, the event will hear moving stories of success and struggle from around the world with plenty of opportunities for discussion and for participants to share their memories and experiences. The event will be held on Zoom, in English, Spanish, French and Russian.

Nov 30, 2020 02:00 PM in Amsterdam

Loading
* Required information