Zoom Logo

CLDE21 Session: Deliberative Dialogue Institute: Building democratic practices to scale - Shared screen with speaker view
Steven Koether (he/him) SHSU
14:54
Feel free to ask questions here!
Cathy Copeland
27:09
https://PollEv.com/free_text_polls/AGb4L0ZuUKPMAC0kQts9R/respond
Cathy Copeland
27:30
https://PollEv.com/free_text_polls/AGb4L0ZuUKPMAC0kQts9R/respond
John Dedrick
30:09
Time permitting, I’d like to make a connection between Boyer’s Scholarship Reconsidered and the Deliberative Dialogue Institutes.
Steven Koether (he/him) SHSU
36:40
Participants (and the four of us) actually looked forward to these meetings and times together. Keep in mind, we held these on Friday afternoons! Positive, uplifting, collaborative
Cathy Copeland
37:09
It was a wonderful way to end a week!
Cathy Copeland
43:52
If you're interested in the fall DDI sessions, put your email in the chat (or message me).
Markya Reed
44:16
markya1@umbc.edu
Jeanne Westgard
44:35
Jeanne.westgard@slcc.edu
Jessie Weasner
44:40
Jessica.weasner@centre.edu
Kristina Gage
44:41
kmsnader@uncg.edu
Sarah Agate
44:54
Sarah_agate@byu.edu
KristaniPhoneXR
45:26
How can we encourage our admin and legal departments to feel comfortable with us having these discussions with students?
Angela Quick (she/her/hers)
45:28
angela.quick@maryvillecollege.edu
Steven Koether (he/him) SHSU
45:29
A safe space to practice before working with your students and campus
Shishei Tsang (she/her)
45:59
ystsang@chapman.edu
Mike Burns
46:19
mburns@campusvoteproject.org
Steven Koether (he/him) SHSU
48:31
We tied it to campus initiatives as well (critical thinking, community efforts)
Patrick O'Brien (He/Him/His)
48:33
pobrien@frostburg.edu
Libby Roderick
49:18
Hi there, this is Libby Roderick, Director of the Difficult Dialogues Initiative at the University of Alaska and co-founder of the Difficult DIalogues National Resource Center. Would LOVE to connect with you about your work. eroderick@alaska.edu.
Zachery Holder
51:08
zdholder@wisc.edu would love to continue learning
Keren Ortega
51:25
kortega2@ramapo.edu
Andrew Irvine
53:12
I think I thought Difficult Dialogues was Deliberative Dialogues! I have heard these expressions for a long time, but would be very happy to learn methods and skills.
Libby Roderick
54:36
Andrew, there are a wide range of models for dialogue out there. In my case, I focus primarily on training faculty in a wide range of strategies to proactively and effectively introduce challenging topics into the learning environment. Others focus on students or communities, or have particular processes for how we can engage in these dialogues.
Cathy Copeland
54:41
Session Survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/7P2MX72
Emily Bowman
55:23
Thanks all!
Duy Trinh
55:26
thank you!
Sarah Agate
55:27
Thank you!!!!
Peg Gray-Vickrey
55:29
Thank you!
Libby Roderick
55:31
Thanks for your great work!
Jakob Lucas
55:40
Thank you!!
William Hudon
55:45
Thank you all!
John Dedrick
55:50
Thanks. This was a terrific session!
Sarah Agate
55:50
Looking forward to being involved moving forward!