webinar register page

Webinar banner
Single-molecule force spectroscopy of protein-membrane interactions
Many biological processes rely on mechanical forces generated by protein-membrane interactions, yet high resolution methods to quantify such interactions are lacking. Here, we describe a single-molecule force spectroscopy approach to quantify membrane binding of C2 domains in Synaptotagmin-1 (Syt1) and Extended Synaptotagmin-2 (E-Syt2). Syts and E-Syts bind the plasma membrane via multiple C2 domains to bridge it with synaptic vesicles and endoplasmic reticulum to regulate membrane fusion and lipid exchange, respectively. In our approach single proteins attached to membranes supported on silica beads are pulled by optical tweezers, allowing membrane binding and protein conformational transitions to be measured with unprecedented spatiotemporal resolution. The method can be widely applied to study protein-membrane interactions.

Instructor: Prof. Lu Ma
Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing 100190, China

Duration: 1 hour
Language: English
Costs: Free of charge

Please register for a time slot below in accordance with your region:

Asia time slots (CEST):
option 1 - October 21, 03:00 pm (CST)
option 2 - October 21, 09:00 pm (CST)

America time slots:
option 2 - October 21, 09:00 am (EST)
option 3 - October 21, 01:00 pm (EST)/10:00 am (PT)

Europe time slot (CST):
option 1 - October 21, 09:00 am (CET)
option 2 - October 21, 03:00 pm (CET)
option 3 - October 21, 07:00 pm (CET)
Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: LUMICKS.