webinar register page

Webinar banner
Global Islamic Finance and the SDGs Series (19, 20, 21 September)
UKIFC in partnership with United Nations, GEFI, Refinitiv and IsDB is organising a virtual global summit on Islamic finance and the SDGs, to coincide with the UN General Assembly 2022. The summit will:

• Examine some of the operational, regulatory and commercial opportunities and challenges for the Islamic finance sector in engaging with the global ESG/sustainability movement;
• Showcase the practical progress made by Islamic financial institutions on the SDGs, including multilateral organisations, governments, and commercial banks and asset managers;
• Discuss the commercial opportunities and implementation challenges associated with green and sustainable sukuk; and
• Showcase the role for Islamic social finance in achieving the SDGs.

By focusing on the natural alignment between the Islamic faith and the SDGs, we will seek to drive engagement with and acceptance of the Global Goals among communities who might otherwise not engage with them.

The series will feature a mixture of high-level discussion panels, keynotes and practical showcases of SDGs in action in Islamic finance.

The Global Islamic Finance and SDGs Taskforce (https://www.ukifc.com/sdg/), initiated by the UKIFC, was launched by the UK Government together with IsDB in 2020 to promote awareness and adoption of the SDGs amongst commercial Islamic financial institutions. This summit is informed by, and builds on, the work of the Taskforce and the UKIFC’s and GEFI’s broader activities in promoting the SDGs at COP26 and the G20 Indonesia and the Global Ethical Finance Summit.

Islamic Finance and Sustainability
Sep 19, 2022 09:00 AM BST / 12:00 GST / 16:00 MYT

Shariah Compliant & Green/Sustainable Islamic Products – outperformance or double trouble?
Sep 20, 2022 09:00 AM BST / 12:00 GST / 16:00 MYT

Islamic Social Finance
Sep 21, 2022 09:00 AM BST / 12:00 GST / 16:00 MYT
You can choose to attend one or more of the following webinars.



Time shows in
* Required information
Loading