webinar register page

The Global Nacao Series: Azharot
Please note: our Zoom broadcast has reached capacity. You are invited to go to https://www.facebook.com/InstituteofJewishExperience/ and watch live from there at 10am EDT, 15:00 London, 16:00 Europe, 17:00 Israel.

Shabu`ot celebrates the giving of the Torah. According to ancient tradition, the Torah enumerates 613 mitzvot:  248 positive commandments and 365 negative ones. In the Sephardic tradition, several poems enumerating each of the commandments have been written by various poets, these are called "Azharot" - Admonitions. The Western Sephardi custom is to read the version written by Solomon ibn Gabirol (1020-1069) with an introduction by David ben Eleazar Pekuda (12th c.) Traditionally, in Congregation Shearith Israel, they chant the Azharot "round-robin" style on the afternoons of Shabu`ot (reading the positive commandments on the first day and the negative commandments on the second day.)  

This year since we cannot meet in the synagogue, Shearith Israel has joined together with sister congregations and hazzanim from around the world to host a special jointAzharot service in advance of the holiday, on Sunday, May 24th at 10AM EDT. Rabbi Meir Soloveichik will give a brief introduction and Rabbi Ira Rohde will chant the Azharot together with Hazzanim from Philadelphia, Montreal, Paris, Bayonne, Florence, Amsterdam, London, and Israel. This type of joint service brings together almost all of the Spanish and Portuguese communities extant today; something that has never been done before! We at the ASF IJE are proud to host this event via a Zoom Webinar. The greater community is invited to this unique experience.

May 24, 2020 10:00 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: American Sephardi Federation.