webinar register page

Webinar promotional image
World AIDS Day - Trans Inclusion in HIV National Strategic Plans
In every country with available data, trans populations are among the most at risk groups for HIV. Despite this, trans populations are frequently excluded from national data-collection efforts and/or are unacknowledged as priority populations by national governments in their HIV responses. As a result, meaningful inclusion of trans people in National Strategic Plans (NSPs) is rare and this exclusion continues to contribute to poor HIV-related health outcomes and to comparatively low levels of trans-specific funding and programming.

GATE and amfAR will present a systematic review of HIV NSPs from 60 countries, followed by a presentation of the Best Practice Guidelines to increase the meaningful engagement of trans people in NSP development. We will be joined by speakers from UNAIDS, the Global Fund and a trans community representative to discuss the importance of trans inclusion in NSPs in order to reach populations most at risk of HIV and to ultimately achieve country-level epidemic control.

Date: 1 December 2021
Time: 7am PT | 10am ET | 4pm CET
Duration: 1 hour
Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading

Speakers

Erika Castellanos
Director of Programs @GATE
Jennifer Sherwood
Public Policy Manager @amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
Elise Lankiewicz
Project Coordinator @amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
Cleiton Euzebio de Lima
Senior Adviser, Civil Society Networking @UNAIDS
Ed Ngoksin
Technical Advisor, Key Populations @Community Rights and Gender Department, The Global Fund
Jay Mulucha
Executive Director @Fem Alliance Uganda