webinar register page

Webinar banner
Clive Brown: "The deceptive simplicity of musical notation" - "Kirill Gerstein invites" hosted by Kronberg Academy
On Wednesday, October 20 at 6PM CEST (5 PM BST/12 Noon EDT), violinist and musicologist Clive Brown joins the forum to discuss “The deceptive simplicity of musical notation”. 

Prof. Brown has written prolifically on a wide range of subjects including Classical and Romantic performance practice, issues of scholarly editing, 18th and 19th century German music.

I first came in touch with his work through the excellent, useful publication on performing practices in Brahms' chamber music. I am delighted that he has agreed to speak about notation, performance and Brahms specifically. 
Prof. Brown says:

"I want to discuss some of the following:

How the relationship between notation and performance has changed over time

How our present understanding of that relationship came about. 

What we can learn from historical evidence about that relationship in the past 

How this understanding might affect our responses in the future. 

I will look more specifically at how these issues are reflected in our responses to Brahms notation. How 20th-century ways of performing his music have lost touch with the inherent meaning of his notation. How knowledge of the performing practices of musicians with whom he was associated might radically affect the way we play his music. I will present some early recordings as well as examples of my own experimental recordings with pianist  Neal Peres Da Costa that attempt to explore some of the lost meanings.


------
KIRILL GERSTEIN INVITES - an online forum with leading thinkers hosted by Kronberg Academy
Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Kirill Gerstein.