webinar register page

Webinar banner
Advanced Disciplinary Issues: Credibility Determinations February 17, 2021
Making a credibility determination is a necessary part of most workplace investigations. When facts are in dispute, the failure to document why one witness is believed over another can compromise the objectivity and fairness of the process, opening the door to unnecessary appeals and litigation, not to mention flawed outcomes.

Evaluating truthfulness is part-science and part-art. This program explains the process for conducting credibility determinations as part of internal disciplinary investigations. Learn what is required so that arbitrators, civil service commissions, the EEOC, and courts will affirm rather than reverse disciplinary decision making.


Investigating workplace misconduct and handling disciplinary matters requires a number of skills, many of which are not developed in a traditional career-path for firefighters. However, these skills are not beyond the capabilities of most firefighters. In fact they are easily acquired. Conducting an effective credibility determination is one of those skills.

How do we assess the credibility of witnesses? Whether we admit it or not, we are constantly making credibility determinations. We typically make these determinations subconsciously, in a manner that can leave us unable to explain why we believe one person and not another. When we couple those subconscious determinations with a negative impact to a firefighter (be it not investigating a firefighter’s claim of harassment, or punishing a firefighter based upon conflicting accounts by witnesses), it can appear we made a bad decision.

Over the years, credibility determination factors have been developed and approved by courts. They offer objective, legally defensible criteria that can be relied upon when making difficult workplace decisions.

February 17, 2021
1:00 pm- 3:30 pm Eastern
12:00pm-2:30pm Central
11:00am-1:30pm Mountain
10:00am-12:30pm Pacific

Cost: $50 per person

Feb 17, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading
Registration fee $50.00USD

By registering, I agree to the Privacy Statement and Terms of Service.

Pay and Register Secured by