webinar register page

Peru Support Group Webinar Series #2: The Pandemic and its Impact on Indigenous People
Saturday 26th September
4PM BST (10AM PET; 11AM EDT; 8AM PDT)

UPDATE: We are very pleased to add to the panel Lizardo Cauper, president of AIDESEP. Please tune in.

The panel will seek to clarify the particular vulnerability of indigenous populations. It will discuss the role of history, present policy, culture, the agency and participation of indigenous peoples in decision-making processes, and the variations in the availability and quality of public services, including access to health services and food provisions.

Panelists:

- Stephanie Boyd - Filmmaker and journalist. She has been living in Peru since 1997 and produced a series of films in the Amazon, including a groundbreaking film about the pandemic in Peru's Amazon.
- Peter Hughes - Columban missionary priest. Coordinator of human rights and territorial rights for REPAM, a Catholic Church network that promotes the lives and dignity of people living in the Amazon.
- Carlos Soria - environmental lawyer, teacher and researcher at the Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú.
- Lizardo Cauper, President of the Asociación Interétnica de Desarrollo de la Selva Peruana, AIDESEP


Moderator:

- Vanessa Baird - PSG steering committee member. Co-editor and co-director of New Internationalist

Sep 26, 2020 04:00 PM in London

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Ana Reyes-Hurt.