webinar register page

Webinar banner
This webinar is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
Izzy Award Ceremony 2020
The Park Center for Independent Media will host the 12th Izzy Award ceremony on October 28 at 6:00 p.m. Named after I. F. “Izzy” Stone, the legendary 20th century journalist, this award recognizes outstanding achievement in independent media—journalism created outside traditional corporate structures.

This year, the Izzy Award recognizes Matt Taibbi for exceptional stories written throughout 2019 that tackled media bias, government misconduct, and the presidential campaign. He not only criticized conservative media, but liberal media for its empty ultra-partisanship that dodges conversations of corporate power. His partly reader-funded stories culminated in his book “Hate Inc.,” which the Izzy Award Judges call “original, irreverent, provocative, highly entertaining and, most of all, invariably based on hard digging.”

“News Inside,” the publication started in 2019 by The Marshall Project, is honored for its vital work of bringing curated reporting on criminal justice for circulation in prisons and jails. Initiated by Lawrence Bartley, who joined the Marshall Project in 2018 after serving 27 years in prison himself, the publication reaches more than 510 facilities in 38 states in the U.S. and Canada.

Finally, Puerto Rico’s Centro de Periodismo Investigativo (CPI) is recognized for its impactful 2019 public interest reporting, including on the government’s negligent disaster preparedness policies and the true death toll Hurricane Maria exacted on the island. On behalf of CPI, Executive Director Carla Minet will accept the award.

For more: https://www.parkindymedia.org/pcim-hosts-the-2020-izzy-award/

Oct 28, 2020 06:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Brandy Hawley.