webinar register page

Webinar – Opening Online Marketplaces to Government Micro-Purchases
June 30, 2020 – 9:00 Pacific, 12:00 Eastern, 18:00 CET

Info: www.publicprocurementinternational.com

In one of the first initiatives of its kind in the industrialized world, the U.S. General Services Administration on June 26 awarded three contracts (to Amazon Business, Overstock.com and Fisher Scientific) that would allow government users to make billions of dollars in purchases directly from “electronic marketplaces” online.

Join a free hour-long webinar sponsored by George Washington University Law School’s Government Procurement Program, with leading academics and experts on public and private supply chains:

• Moderator Christopher Yukins (GWU) will introduce GSA’s “commercial platforms” initiative, and discuss potential challenges in implementation.
• Robert Handfield, the Bank of America University Distinguished Professor of Supply Chain Management at North Carolina State University, and Director of the Supply Chain Resource Cooperative, will discuss how the government’s use of commercial platforms could improve the resilience of public supply chains in times of crisis.
• Thomas Kull, professor of supply chain management at the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University, will review the training that will be needed under this initiative, as non-procurement professionals take on substantial purchasing responsibilities through the new platforms.
• Andrea Patrucco, professor of project and supply chain management at Penn State Beaver, will discuss the potential impact of this initiative in state and local governments, and internationally.
• Special guest Roger Waldron, president of the Coalition for Government Procurement (a leading industry association of commercial contractors who sell regularly to the federal government), will join to discuss the initiative's potential impacts.

01:10:00

* Required information
Loading