webinar register page

Webinar banner
Drafting and Implementing an Effective Social Media Policy
Social media has been both a blessing and a curse for the fire service, but one thing is undeniable: social media with all its problems is here to stay. The law that applies to social media has been evolving and continues to evolve, with new cases arising daily. Emerging are important principles that fire service leaders and firefighters can use to avoid the pitfalls that can lead to firefighters being terminated or social media policies being struck down.
This program will focus on the latest social media cases affecting the fire service, and the important lessons learned for fire departments and firefighters. These lessons will then be connected to recommended policy language for your social media policy.

This program will review the latest social media cases affecting the fire service, and the important lessons learned. These lessons will then be connected to recommended policy language for an effective and legally defensible social media policy.

Attendees will receive course materials that includes a model social media policy that can be customized in class. Copies of the most important cases will also be provided.

1. Case Studies - Intro
2. First Amendment Protection
3. Concerted Activities Protection
4. Case Studies – Review
5. Model Policy Language: drafting your social media policy
6. Training Issues

1:00pm - 4:00pm Eastern
12:00pm-3:00pm Central
11:00am - 2:00pm Mountain
10:00am-1:00pm Pacific

Jul 8, 2020 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading
Registration fee $50.00USD
Pay and Register Secured by

Speakers

Curt Varone
Curt Varone has over 40 years of experience in the fire service. He served twenty-nine years with the Providence, Rhode Island, Fire Department, retiring as a Deputy Assistant Chief (shift-commander). He has been a practicing attorney for thirty years licensed in both Rhode Island and Maine. He previously served as the Director of the Public Fire Protection Division at the National Fire Protection Association. Curt has written two books, Legal Considerations for Fire and Emergency Services, and Fire Officer's Legal Handbook. He is a contributing editor for Firehouse Magazine writing the Fire Law column and remains active as a deputy chief with the Exeter (RI) Fire Department.