webinar register page

Webinar banner
Advanced Garrity Issues: Firefighters and the Right to Remain Silent - January 27, 2021
This program is intended for fire service leaders, firefighter union representatives, HR managers and attorneys who play a role in firefighter discipline. If you are responsible for overseeing firefighter discipline, conducting investigations or representing firefighters accused of misconduct, and you are not sure when a firefighter has a right to remain silent, this program is for you.

This program will dissect the Garrity Rule, explaining it in simple terms. The leading firefighter Garrity cases will be discussed, and copies of the cases will be provided. The reality is that firefighters have a right to remain silent under certain circumstances, and those asking the questions as well as those advising the witness, need to know when. Mistakes – even well intentioned – can cost firefighters their jobs… or worse.

This program may be of interest to those involved with other public employee disciplines including police officers, teachers, and public works, but the discussion will focus primarily on firefighters.

January 27, 2021
1:00 pm- 3:30 pm Eastern
12:00pm-2:30pm Central
11:00am-1:30pm Mountain
10:00am-12:30pm Pacific

Cost: $50 per person

Among what you will learn:
• The two aspects of Garrity: How understanding the difference clears up so much of the confusion that surrounds Garrity!
• Shades of Grey: Garrity & Off-Duty Misconduct
• Garrity and Weingarten: What is the difference and why smart union reps NEVER allow both to become an issue in the same case
• How compelled is compelled?
• And then there’s California: Speilbauer I, FPBOR, Speilbauer II (if this does not make sense to you, welcome to California)

Let’s face it: firefighters HATE the idea of discipline. The very thought of discipline offends the “take care of each other” culture that makes the fire service what it is. That in a nutshell explains why we struggle with discipline when it unfortunately becomes necessary and explains why so few firefighters understand an advanced concept like Garrity.

Jan 27, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading
Registration fee $50.00USD
Pay and Register Secured by