webinar register page

Beyond Chechnya - Backlash Against LGBTIQ Communities Around the World
A discussion of the impact of the film, Welcome to Chechnya and the rise of the "traditional values" movement facing LGBTIQ activist globally. In 2017 the world was shocked by news of active persecution, arrest, torture and even murder of LGBTIQ people in Chechnya. In 2020 a documentary, "Welcome to Chechnya'', was released. But active targeting of LGBTIQ people takes place beyond Chechnya, across Russia overall. A backlash is on the rise in other countries around the world, standing in stark contrast with the incredible progress in the recognition of the human rights of LGBTIQ people. In Indonesia and Egypt criminalization of same-sex relations is pending, and violent attacks are on the rise. In Morocco and Sudan LGBTIQ-phobia is also increasing. 

Thursday May 27, 2021 10am PDT  /  1pm EDT  /  7pm CET

Moderator -  Jessica Stern, Executive Director OutRight Action International 

Panelist 
 - Olga Baranova, Moscow Community Center for LGBT+ Initiatives 
 - Jonta Saragih, Indonesia Program Officer OutRight Action International 
 - Azza Sultan, Middle East & North Africa Regional Program Advisor OutRight Action International

May 27, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Chandler Bazemore.