webinar register page

Webinar banner
UFPJ webinar: The Enduring Nuclear Threat; A Deeper Look
Tuesday, March 30, 2021: 8:00 – 9:30 pm EDT; 7:00 – 8:30 pm MDT; 6:00 – 7:30 pm CDT; 5:00 – 6:30 pm PDT
The recent entry into force of the Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons brought a welcome positive moment to a bleak disarmament landscape. But none of the nuclear armed states have joined the Treaty, and all are expanding or modernizing their nuclear arsenals. This webinar, hosted by UFPJ, will provide an update on nuclear weapons policies and programs and an overview of relevant developments in international law. It also will suggest the need to rethink familiar approaches to disarmament, and to shift the focus of disarmament advocacy from recognizing the effects of nuclear weapons to analyzing the causes of nuclear arms racing and of the risks of war among nuclear-armed countries – the same root causes driving many of our other most pressing crises.

UFPJ is pleased to host this webinar featuring three internationally recognized champions for nuclear abolition.

Jackie Cabasso, Executive Director of the Western States Legal Foundation, based in Oakland, California, since 1984

John Burroughs, Senior Analyst for the New York City-based Lawyers Committee on Nuclear Policy (LCNP)

Andrew Lichterman, policy analyst and lawyer with the Oakland, California-based Western States Legal Foundation.

Mar 30, 2021 05:00 PM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: CODEPINK.