webinar register page

Webinar banner
October Book Club: Jackie Polzin
Join us for our October Book Club on Zoom as we discuss Brood with the author, Jackie Polzin!

ABOUT THE BOOK

An exquisite new literary voice—wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout—depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.

Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for other creatures entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H Is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jackie Polzin lives in West St. Paul, Minnesota, with her husband and two children. Her first novel, Brood, won the Sue Kaufman First Fiction Prize and the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, and was shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. Her writing has appeared in O, The Oprah Magazine, Literary Hub, and The Idaho Review. Jackie attended UW–Madison and earned an MFA from Boise State University. At "The Modern Art Show" in Boise, ID, she performed excerpts from her diaries for the project Leave Nothing Unsaid. Jackie has taught at Boise State, The Cabin, The Edible Schoolyard Berkeley and as a guest lecturer at Pitzer College in Claremont, CA.

Oct 18, 2022 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading