webinar register page

Webinar banner
Investigating the Pandemic: Masterclass on Online Research with Paul Myers
PLEASE NOTE: We will not be uploading this masterclass online after the webinar, so do join us live.

To listen to the webinar in English:
1. Choose the globe icon (bottom right of your screen).
2. Select "English"
3. Select "Mute Original Audio"

To listen to the webinar in Russian:
1. Choose the globe icon (bottom right of your screen).
2. Select "Russian"
3. Select "Mute Original Audio"

It is important to select “Mute original audio” so that you will only hear one language instead of two at the same time.

Reporting on the ground and interviewing people face-to-face have become high-risk activities during the COVID-19 pandemic. But there are ways to continue investigative work using your computer and cutting-edge online techniques – critical skills at all times. Join us for this GIJN webinar, Online Research with open source sleuth Paul Myers, part of GIJN’s series Investigating the Pandemic.

Paul Myers is head of the BBC Academy's Investigation Support project, working with news and current affairs programmes and sharing vital new skills with journalists. He has worked at the sharp end of online research for 20 years, pioneering online research techniques that are now commonplace in the media.

Myers is one of our most popular speakers at GIJN conferences. His webinar will include tips on how to find people and how to search social networks, including Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn. Myers will also provide an update on searching the top four search engines.

This 90-minute webinar is free, and the tenth in a GIJN series, Investigating the Pandemic.

Time:
8:00 (Bogota)
9:00am EDT (Washington DC, La Paz)
10:00 (Brasilia)
13:00 (Monrovia, Rabat)
14:00 BST (Abuja, London, Tunis)
15:00 CET (Berlin, Cairo, Johannesburg)
16:00 MSK (Amman, Kyiv, Kampala, Nairobi)
17:00 (Muscat)
18:00 (Islamabad)
19:00 (Dhaka)
20:00 (Bangkok, Jakarta)
21:00 CST (Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur)
23:00 (Canberra)

May 28, 2020 09:00 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: GIJN.