webinar register page

Webinar banner
Resilience in Advancing LGBTIQ Rights Globally
Date: June 1, 2021
Duration: 1 hour and 15 minutes
Start Time: 8 AM PDT | 11 AM EDT | 3 PM GMT | 5 PM CEST | 11 PM UTC

OutRight Action International and the Partnership for Global LGBTI Equality (PGLE) invite you to commemorate #PrideWithAPurpose.

The critical societal challenges of injustice, oppression, discrimination, and inequality are the defining issues of our time, present long before the global COVID-19 pandemic, which has simply exposed and reinforced the systems that sustain and exacerbate them. As a result of the pandemic, society is at the threshold of a major change in how we view, define, and prioritize equity and inclusion of vulnerable populations, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, and queer (LGBTIQ) people. As history reminds us, the LGBTIQ movement emerged out of struggle and resilience. LGBT Pride is both a resistance to oppression and the promotion of self-affirmation, dignity, equality, and visibility. This discussion will uncover challenges and resilience strategies of multisectoral actors working in challenging geographies. Experts from civil society, the corporate sector and multilateral institutions will define pressing LGBTIQ public policy issues from different vantages and speak to the long-term strategies required to achieve change.

Program Speakers:
- Clare Iery, Associate General Counsel, Procter & Gamble
- Michael Karimian, Senior Manager - Human Rights, Microsoft
- Luzerne V. McAllister II, Director, Global Diversity Equity & Inclusion, PepsiCo
- Kenita M. Placide, Co-Founder/Executive Director, Eastern Caribbean Alliance Diversity and Equality (ECADE)
- Melisande Schifter, Project Lead, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, World Economic Forum
- Kathy Teo, Founder and CEO, Xpointo Media; Board Director, OutRight Action International
- Michael van Gelderen, Human Rights Officer, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)

Jun 1, 2021 11:00 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Elise Colomer-Cheadle.