webinar register page

Organizing the Church: Pyramid or Team?
The hierarchy vs team dichotomy is a classic debate in organization studies. Proponents of participatory management have criticized hierarchy as an obstacle to efficient communication, motivation, and learning, while those who have defended hierarchy view it as indispensable for large organizations.

A similar debate exists in the Church, where there is long tradition of participatory vs hierarchical modes of governance. What is the right balance between hierarchy (clergy) and participation (of the laity)? Can hierarchy and teamwork coexist and leverage from each other? Is there a theology of hierarchy and a theology of "inverted hierarchy"? How to avoid the pitfalls of both organizational models as suggested by organization science?

Join us on September 9, 2020, at 5pm Rome time (8am Pacific Time, 11am Eastern Time)

Sep 9, 2020 05:00 PM in Rome

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Program of Church Management.