webinar register page

Webinar banner
Environmental health impacts of synthetic turf and safer alternatives
Join us on Thursday, January 27 at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 7pm Central Europe to hear Rachel Massy, PhD, Lindsey Pollard, MS, and Zhenyu Tian, PhD, discuss their research looking at the different environmental health impacts of artificial turf and safer alternatives.

Dr. Rachel Massey and Lindsey Pollard will discuss the research they have conducted at the Toxics Use Reduction Institute (TURI) on health and environmental implications of artificial turf and safer alternatives. They will describe their research on materials used as artificial turf infill, including waste tire materials. They will also touch upon emerging information on chemicals in artificial turf grass blades, as well as other health and environmental concerns associated with artificial turf, such as microplastic pollution and high surface temperatures. They will briefly discuss their research on natural grass athletic fields as a safer alternative.

Dr. Zhenyu Tian will briefly summarize the identification of 6PPD-quinone as a lethal toxicant for coho salmon, and will further introduce the comprehensive screening of organic contaminants in urban stormwater and tire wear particle leachate. He will discuss knowledge gaps and ongoing research about crumb rubber infill materials.

To conclude, Dr. Sarah Evans will speak from a pediatric environmental health perspective, touching on routes of exposure and concerns specific to children, with an emphasis on what families and communities can do to use safer alternatives.

For full details, visit https://www.healthandenvironment.org and select this webinar at the bottom of the homepage.

Jan 27, 2022 10:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

* Required information
Loading