webinar register page

A conversation with Adam Tooze - hosted by Another Europe is Possible
TIMEZONE: UK time this starts at 17.00; New York midday; and Central European Time 18.00.

It's the most serious peacetime crisis the world has ever faced. As the entire global economy shuts down huge questions are posed for the future of the economic system. What steps should European countries be taking to avert the crisis? Will northern European states show solidarity with the periphery? Or will the mistakes of the 2008 crisis be repeated in even more dangerous circumstances?

To assess these questions hosts Zoe Williams (Guardian) and Luke Cooper (Another Europe) talk to professor Adam Tooze. An economic historian at Columbia University and director of the European Institute, Tooze is the author of, Crashed: How a Decade of Financial Crises Changed the World, an award winning exploration of the geopolitical and economic consequences of the 2008 financial crisis. He has repeatedly spoken out on the need to reform the European and global economy. In this conversation we ask him to reflect on the continent's possible futures. Is the era of free market globalisation coming to a close? And, if so, what's next?

For more information about Citizens Take Over Europe, please check our website and follow us on social media!
- Website: https://www.citizenstakeover.eu
- Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/citizenstakeover
- Twitter: https://twitter.com/takeover_europe
- Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/citizenstakeovereurope

As we expect an international audience for this event please note that the start time is using London/Lisbon timezone.

This event is supported by the Friedrich Ebert Stiftung London Office. Christos Katsioulis will offer some opening remarks at the beginning to kick off a series of 5 joint events.

May 9, 2020 05:00 PM in London

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Another Europe.