webinar register page

Making Black America National Townhall
Join us on Monday, September 26th, at 7 PM ET/ 6 PM CT/ 4 PM PT, for a special National Zoom Town Hall about the new PBS documentary series Making Black America: Through The Grapevine.

Our guests will unpack themes from the latest series from acclaimed Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates Jr. The documentary series chronicles the vast social networks and organizations created by and for Black people beyond the reach of the “white gaze.” The series recounts the establishment of the Prince Hall Masons in 1775 through the formation of all-Black towns and business districts, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, destinations for leisure, and the social media phenomenon of Black Twitter. MAKING BLACK AMERICA takes viewers into an extraordinary world that showcases Black people’s ability to collectively prosper, defy white supremacy and define Blackness in ways that transformed America itself.

This dynamic conversation will feature:

Henry Louis Gates Jr. – Professor, Author, Producer
Shayla Harris – Director, Producer
Stacey Holman – Director, Series Producer
Dr. Eddie Glaude Jr. - Professor, Series Participant
And more!

Learn more about Making Black America, and don't miss this important conversation about the moments that transformed the Black community.

Please note the townhall will be recorded for archival and promotional purposes. PBS holds the rights to all content and assets from the program.

Sep 26, 2022 07:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Values Partnerships.