webinar register page

Webinar banner
CEP Webinar: 30 Years of Western Jihad – A Discussion with Jytte Klausen
Ahead of the 21st anniversary of the September 11 terrorist attacks, the Counter Extremism Project (CEP) invites you to attend our upcoming webinar on September 8 from 16:00 BST / 17:00 CET / 11:00 ET with Professor Jytte Klausen, curator of the Western Jihadism Project at Brandeis University and author of Western Jihadism: A Thirty Year History.

Professor Klausen will join CEP London-based advisor Liam Duffy to discuss her research into the Western Jihadist project, which is a database designed to survey al-Qaeda inspired terrorist offenders in Europe, as well the West’s experiences with jihad before and after the 9/11 attacks.


BIOGRAPHY:
Jytte Klausen is the Lawrence A. Wien Professor of International Cooperation at Brandeis University and an Affiliate at the Center for European Studies at Harvard University. She is the author of The Cartoons That Shook the World (Yale University Press 2009) about the worldwide protests against the Danish cartoons of the Muslim Prophet, and The Islamic Challenge: Politics and Religion in Western Europe (Oxford University Press 2005, pb. 2007), which was published in German and Turkish translations. In 2006, Klausen founded the Western Jihadism Project, which studies Western violent extremists associated with Al Qaeda. Klausen has written for Foreign Affairs, the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, and other national and international outlets, and she is a regular commentator on the BBC, Voice of America, and other U.S. and international media. In Fall 2021, Oxford University Press published her most recent book titled Western Jihadism: A Thirty-Year History. The book is shortlisted for the 2022 Airey Neave Memorial Prize.

Sep 8, 2022 04:00 PM in Dublin

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: .