webinar register page

Webinar banner
Advanced Garrity Issues: Firefighters and the Right to Remain Silent - December 1, 2021
When does a firefighter have a right to remain silent, and when does a firefighter have to answer questions or face termination? If you are responsible for overseeing firefighter discipline, conducting investigations or representing firefighters accused of misconduct, and you are not certain when a firefighter has a right to remain silent, this webinar is for you.

We will dissect the Garrity Rule, explaining it in simple terms. The leading firefighter Garrity cases will be discussed and copies provided. The reality is firefighters have a right to remain silent under certain circumstances, and those asking the questions as well as those advising the witness, need to know when. Mistakes – even well intentioned – can cost firefighters their jobs… or worse.

This program is intended for fire service leaders, firefighter union representatives, HR managers and attorneys who play a role in firefighter discipline. It may be of interest to those involved with discipline of other public employees including police, teachers, and public works.

December 1, 2021
1 pm- 4:30 pm Eastern
12 pm-3:30pm Central
11 am-2:30pm Mountain
10 am-1:30pm Pacific

Cost: $75 per person, group discounts available. Email curtvarone@gmail.com for details.

What you will learn:
• The two aspects of Garrity: How understanding the difference clears up so much of the confusion that surrounds Garrity!
• Shades of Grey: Garrity & Off-Duty Misconduct
• Garrity & Weingarten: What is the difference & why smart union reps NEVER allow both to become an issue in the same case
• How compelled is compelled?
• Then there’s California: Speilbauer I, FPBOR, Speilbauer II (if this does not make sense to you, welcome to California)

Let’s face it: firefighters HATE the idea of discipline. Discipline offends the “take care of each other” culture that makes the fire service what it is. That in a nutshell explains why we struggle with discipline and why so few firefighters understand an advanced concept like Garrity.

Dec 1, 2021 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading
Registration fee $75.00USD
Pay and Register Secured by