webinar register page

Indigenous Peoples’ Autonomies and Self-Governance: Regional Dialogue for Asia
On Friday 17 December, the Permanent Forum will organize a regional dialogue on Indigenous Peoples’ autonomy and self-governance in Asia.

It will take place at 7am (US EST) / 7 pm (Bangkok, Thailand) / 8pm (Beijing, China) and moderated by Mr. Gam A. Shimray Secretary General, Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP). Speakers are Beverly Longid (Philippines) and Prof. Virginius Xaxa (India).

At its twentieth session, the Permanent Forum committed to facilitating informal online regional dialogues on autonomy and self-governance to support the development of guiding principles for the realization of the rights of indigenous peoples to autonomy and self-government.

• What are good practices related to Indigenous Peoples’ autonomy in the region?
• What have been the challenges or obstacles to implement the right to autonomy?
• What are the priorities of indigenous peoples?
• What could be the potential scope/content of these guiding principles?

Participation will be open to representatives of Indigenous Peoples’ organizations, Member States, UN entities, academia and NGOs, applying the same criteria for participation that is used for the annual sessions of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.

Dec 17, 2021 07:00 AM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: IPDB/SPFII.