webinar register page

Emerging fault lines: what kind of plastics treaty will we have? A live webinar from INC-1 in Uruguay
GRID-Arendal, the Norwegian Academy of International Law and The Fridtjof Nansen Institute will host a live webinar during the first session of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee (INC-1) taking place in Punta del Este, Uruguay, 28 November to 2 December, 2022.

The event will raise some of the main issues of contention in the current negotiations towards an international legally binding instrument on plastic pollution, drawing on the recently published report Crafting an effective treaty on plastic pollution: Emerging fault lines in the intergovernmental negotiations. We will invite delegates and other actors to give real-time insights into the discussions taking place at INC-1 and share their views on the journey towards the new treaty.

Moderator: Magnus Løvold, Co-Founder of the Norwegian Academy of International Law
08:30 – 08:35: Welcome (GRID-Arendal)
08:35 – 08:55: Options for an effective plastics treaty, and emerging fault lines (NAIL, FNI)
08:55 – 09:30: Moderated discussion with Member State delegates and stakeholders from the business, civil society, and science communities
Mr. Andres Del Castillo, Senior Attorney, Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL)
Ms. Jodie Roussell, Global Public Affairs Lead – Packaging and Sustainability, Nestlé
Dr. Trisia Farrelly, Associate Professor, School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University, New Zealand
Delegates from UN Member States

Date: Wednesday 30 November 2022
Time: 08:30-09:30 a.m. UYT (breakfast from 08:00 am), 12:30 – 13:30 CET
Location: The Grand Hotel Punta Del Este and Zoom

For those present in Punta Del Este, the event will be held at Jean Clevers Parque Hotel: https://goo.gl/maps/eCarBE3DiiHZUdjZ7. No advance registration is required. Breakfast will be served from 8:00 am.

Nov 30, 2022 08:30 AM in Montevideo

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: .