webinar register page

Webinar banner
"A Crime on the Bayou"--Learning from Civil Rights Litigators & Activists about Fighting Systemic Racism in the Justice System
JANUARY 27, 2023

This new CLE program from ReelTime Creative Learning Experiences features the award-winning documentary “A Crime on the Bayou,” a behind-the scenes exploration of two civil rights era arrests in Louisiana that led to landmark constitutional law cases.

In the original case, a young Black man named Gary Duncan was convicted of assaulting a young white boy, when Duncan was in fact intervening to try to prevent a fight. Duncan's conviction was ultimately reversed by the U.S. Supreme Court, which held for the first time that the Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial applies to the states.

In the other case, Duncan’s volunteer out-of-state lawyer was arrested for practicing law without a Louisiana license. A federal court enjoined the prosecution upon a showing that the constitutional rights of people of color could not be protected in Louisiana at that time without the efforts of out-of-state volunteer lawyers.

This CLE program will feature selected clips from the documentary, along with a lively roundtable discussion involving several of the still-living participants themselves. Attendees will learn not only about the legacy of civil rights litigation and constitutional practice in the heyday of the civil rights movement, but will also draw powerful lessons for navigating issues of bias, discrimination, and systemic racism as they continue to manifest themselves in our justice system today.

Schedule:
9:00 PT/Noon ET Discussion of the “crime” on the bayou, systemic racism and U.S. Supreme Court decision in Duncan vs. State of Louisiana
10:00 PT/1 p.m. ET Discussion of Sobol v. Perez and the crucial role of pro bono service
10:30 PT/1:30 pm ET Contextualizing COTB in light of current civil rights challenges
11:30 PT/2:30 pm ET Practical and sustainable strategies for managing vicarious trauma and maintaining well-being in all areas of practice; Thinking differently about why why we don’t do more pro bono work—and how to change that.
12/3 Adjourn

Jan 27, 2023 12:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Chris Osborn.