webinar register page

Webinar banner
Cultural safety in pharmacy education | Conversation 3: What are we doing?


Oct 28, 2021 11:26 AM

Webinar logo
* Required information


Dr Kerry Hall
Lecturer, First Peoples Health Unit Aboriginal Health Practitioner @Griffith University
Dr Kerry Hall is a lecturer with First Peoples Health Unit, Griffith University, a descendant of the Kuku Yalanji and Lama Lama Peoples, an Enrolled Nurse and Aboriginal Health Practitioner. Her teaching and research focus include primary health care and access to care, community engagement, capacity building, health inequity with a particular interest in cultural safety and culturally safe care. More recently this has extended to include collaboration with Dr Fiona Kelly, community pharmacists and Aboriginal Health Workers on the implementation stage of the 'Feasibility study of an Indigenous Medication Review Service (IMeRSe) in Australia.
Dr Fiona Kelly
Senior Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences @Griffith University
Fiona is a Pharmacy Practice academic at the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, Griffith University with a teaching and research focus on person-centred care, innovative pharmacy services and pharmacies as safe healthcare spaces. More recently this has extended to include collaboration with Dr Hall, community pharmacists and Aboriginal Health Workers on the implementation stage of the 'Feasibility study of an Indigenous Medication Review Service (IMeRSe) in Australia.' Related resource have been integrated into pharmacy student education.
Michael Watkins
Lecturer, Aboriginal Allied Health @University of South Australia
Michael Watkins is currently employed as Lecturer: Aboriginal Allied Health at the University of South Australia and identifies as a descendant of the Mudburra and Jingili peoples from the Northern Territory. Michael has a keen interest in developing rural health workforce, rural and remote health practice, nutritional science, Aboriginal health curriculum development and providing strategic guidance and support to university processes relating to Aboriginal strategy within higher education.
Professor Debra Rowett
Discipline Leader Pharmacy, Clinical and Health Sciences @University of South Australia
Debra has worked extensively in the area of quality use of medicines, inter-professional practice, health policy and workforce development in Australia and internationally. Debra is working with Michael Watkins Lecturer: Aboriginal Allied Health, UniSA and Associate Professor Sara Jones, Rural Clinical Education and Training in the Department of Rural Health, UniSA to develop interprofessional rural and remote teaching and learning opportunities. Their aim is to enhance curricula for pharmacy students to engage with and reflect the needs and priorities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Debra is the President Council Pharmacy Schools Australia and New Zealand.
Verity Boustead
National President @National Australian Pharmacy Students' Association
Verity is the National President of NAPSA for the 2021/22 term. She is a current Fourth Year student undertaking her Bachelor of Pharmacy (Honours) / Master of Pharmacy at Monash University in Melbourne. Through her role as the NAPSA President, she hopes to work closely with the highly capable team of NAPSA Executive Directors, NAPSA Chairs and the Advisory Council, to continue the vital work of their predecessors in strengthening the knowledge and experiences of pharmacy students and interns throughout Australia, and ensuring that their future is prosperous.
Prianka Maharaj
Rural and Indigenous Chair @National Australian Pharmacy Students' Association
As the Rural and Indigenous Chair for NAPSA 2021/2022, Prianka’s role involves representing her fellow pharmacy students to several rural health organisations. She encourages students to apply for rural or regional placement by hosting accessible education sessions about rural pharmacy and cultural awareness and safety.
Simon Blacker
ACT Branch President and a National Councillor @The Pharmacy Guild of Australia
Simon is the Chair of the Guild’s Clinical Governance Committee responsible for overseeing the Quality Care Pharmacy Program and the Quality Care 2020 Requirements accreditation program. He is the newly appointed Chair of Community Pharmacies for Rural and Indigenous Australia and member of the Health Economics and Policy Committee. Simon is also a member of the Heart Foundation (ACT) Local Advisory Board and the University of Canberra Pharmacy Course Advisory Group. A community pharmacy owner and operator for over 20 years, he has community pharmacies in Parkes, Dubbo and Canberra.
Aleena Williams
Director of Immunisation and Notifiable Diseases @Department of Health, Northern Territory
Aleena is a Yugambeh woman from South-East Queensland. She is a registered pharmacist with a background in rural and remote pharmacy practice where she has supervised pharmacy students and early career pharmacists. Aleena brings a lived experience of working as a pharmacist while maintaining connections to community and country.